Uncategorized

Holiday In The Sun

Just got home from my East Java trip (again) 3 weeks ago, a quick trip to relieve all the stress and pressure. The reason why I went to Surabaya is because I have to attend my cousin’s wedding which is actually on the 7th and 8th of February. I couldn’t come on the 6th February because I still had one final exam to be done, so my sister, my sister’s boyfriend and I booked the tickets on the 7th of February. Too bad I couldn’t come to witness their special day, but the second day of the wedding party was amazing too. Even though the wedding was only two days, but we stayed  for a week to explore East Java and stay away from the hectic city life, Jakarta. It was really a great time, where I could enjoy my days after a stressful and tough semester, and celebrate my 21st birthday which is on the 1st of February. Sooo, the wedding party is just an excuse. LOL.

2015-02-01_12.14.02_1[1]

So, my sister and her boyfriend organised a surprise to me on the 1st of February. That night, I was checking my phone and I screamed when the clock showed 12:00 AM on the 1st of February as it means I’m officially 21! (yes, the beginning of a new age should be celebrated in an exciting way, such as: screaming and smiling with uncertain reasons. I’m that weird, I know). And suddenly the light went off, my sister and my parents came into my room and sang me a birthday song. I was out of words! Such a beautiful surprise. Well, they always give me surprise every year and each year was so magical. And I got lots of presents from my friends, and my family, lots of sweet and kind wishes from all the lovely people. And what make it even more incredible is, when I woke up on my birthday, I got a chance to talk to my all time favourite modern-poet and super talented production designer, Lauryn. I am such a big fans of her. She said she wants to send me a postcard all the way from California. As I love all of her works, so that was SO epic!


I took almost 500 pictures during the trip from East Java to Central Java :”) So here ‘s at least some of them!

We went to Surabaya by train. It took 12 hours to reach Surabaya from Jakarta. But we didn't feel so bored because we spent our time watching some movies, listening to musics, and eating. We also met a very cute baby boy, and he was so entertaining! We reached Surabaya at 2 AM. My uncle, and  then some of my cousins picked us up at the train station.
We went to Surabaya by train. It took 12 hours to reach Surabaya from Jakarta. But we didn’t feel so bored because we spent our time watching some movies, listening to musics, and eating. We also met a very cute baby boy, and he was so entertaining! We reached Surabaya at 2 AM. My uncle, and then some of my cousins picked us up at the train station.

 

First stop: Gresik. I didn't sleep well that night. Only got 3 hours of sleep. Before attending my cousin's wedding, we went for an afternoon stroll around Alun-Alun Gresik with becak ride (traditional public transportation in Java). It was a sunny day, my kind of favourite day.
First stop: Gresik. I didn’t sleep well that night. Only got 3 hours of sleep. Before attending my cousin’s wedding, we went for an afternoon stroll around Alun-Alun Gresik with becak ride (traditional public transportation in Java). It was a sunny day, my kind of favourite day.

 

A nice place, great ambience.
A nice place, great ambience.
It was really hot. But it didn't stop us for taking pictures. There are so many foodstreets here, and we tried some of them, and surprisingly the taste was so yummy!
It was really hot. But it didn’t stop us for taking pictures. There are so many foodstreets here, and we tried some of them, and surprisingly the taste was so yummy!
There are some other historical places around this area to visit, such as Makam Sunan Malik Ibrahim but we didn't have much time to visit each of them. Next time, maybe?
There are some other historical places around this area to visit, such as Makam Sunan Malik Ibrahim but we didn’t have much time to visit each of them. Next time, maybe?
Tadaaa! So this is my brother, and soon-to-be my brother in law :D
Tadaaa! So this is my brother, and soon-to-be my brother in law 😀

 

We went back to Alun-Alun for having dinner together with my cousins, my sister and her boyfriend. Never thought that this place was way more crowded at night.
We went back to Alun-Alun for having dinner together with my cousins, my sister and her boyfriend. Never thought that this place was way more crowded at night.

 

As a metropolitan city, Surabaya become the center of economic activities in East Java and the surrounding area. Most of the population is engaged in services, industry and trade. These are the list of some interesting places to visit in Surabaya: Suramadu Bridge (this bridge connected Surabaya and Madura) it is one of the most famous and largest bridge in Indonesia, House of Sampoerna, Surabaya Zoo (the biggest zoo in Indonesia), Tanjung Perak Harbour, Sub Marine Monument, Tunjungan Street, Jembatan Merah (Red Bridge), and The Heroes Monument. I am sure there are many interesting places in Surabaya that I don't know and haven't visited yet.
As a metropolitan city, Surabaya become the center of economic activities in East Java and the surrounding area. Most of the population is engaged in services, industry and trade. These are the list of some interesting places to visit in Surabaya: Suramadu Bridge (this bridge connects the mainland from Surabaya to the island of Madura), House of Sampoerna, Surabaya Zoo (known as the largest zoo in South-East Asia, and also known as the zoo with the most collections of animals), Tanjung Perak Harbour, Sub Marine Monument, Tunjungan Street, Jembatan Merah (Red Bridge), and The Heroes Monument. I am sure there are many interesting places in Surabaya that I don’t know and haven’t visited yet.

 

On the next day before heading to Tuban (my Grandparents' house) we decided to visit my Aunt's house. And I found this beautiful garden in front of her house. Well, I couldn't resist its beauty, so I took some pictures and and tried my best to snap a flying butterfly around this garden, but I failed, yeah!
On the next day before heading to Tuban (my Grandparents’ house) we decided to visit my Aunt’s house. And I found this beautiful garden in front of her house. Well, I couldn’t resist its beauty, so I took some pictures and and tried my best to snap a flying butterfly around this garden, but I failed, yeah!

 

While traveling to different places, I always enjoy myself strolling down on the alley.  Took this picture before leaving Gresik. Hello, Veteran Street!
A morning stroll on the Veteran Street, Gresik.

 

Tuban is a town located on the north coast of Java, in Tuban Regency, approximately 100 km west of Surabaya, the capital of East Java. Tuban is surrounded by Lamongan in the east, Bojonegoro in the south and Rembang, Central Java in the west.
Tuban is a town located on the north coast of Java, in Tuban Regency, approximately 100 km west of Surabaya, the capital of East Java. Tuban is surrounded by Lamongan in the east, Bojonegoro in the south and Rembang, Central Java in the west. Oh yeah, I am so happy that the Official Instagram account of Tuban Tourism (@exploretuban) posted this picture on their account. Such an honour! 🙂

 

For me, traveling is such a remedy. It makes me feel as peacefully connected to my own being as wandering or traveling completely off the grid (even though sometimes it sucks not being able to be connected with the whole wide world). And this is a place of complete and utter peace, something that is so rare to be found in Jakarta.
For me, traveling is such a remedy. It makes me feel as peacefully connected to my own being as wandering or traveling completely off the grid (even though sometimes it sucks not being able to be connected with the whole wide world). And this is a place of complete and utter peace, something that is so rare to be found in Jakarta.

 

As soon as I arrived there, I realised that some things have changed. My Grandfather has passed away when I was 12 years old. That time I didn't even say goodbye or kiss his cheeks as I was so busy preparing my graduation day in Junior High School. He was a soldier in the Dutch Era. I promise myself to write a post about him on this blog, I am so proud of him, really. And this picture remind me of him as I stumbled upon Virginia Brown's quote: "Sometimes the hardest goodbyes are the ones never said, the ones that always just hang there in the back of mind like a dark cloud".
As soon as I got there, I realised that some things have changed. My Grandfather has passed away when I was 12 years old. That time I didn’t even say goodbye or kiss his cheeks as I was so busy with my final year in Junior High School and so I couldn’t come to his funeral in East Java. He was a soldier in the Dutch Era. I promise myself to write a post about him on this blog, I am so proud of him, really. And this picture reminds me of him as I stumbled upon Virginia Brown’s quote: “Sometimes the hardest goodbyes are the ones never said, the ones that always just hang there in the back of mind like a dark cloud”.

 

It wasn't the most beautiful sunset I've ever seen, it wasn't the one I've expected. But every sunset has its own magic, and this one was one of the monet of pure magic.
It wasn’t the most beautiful sunset I’ve ever seen, it wasn’t the one I’ve expected. But every sunset has its own magic, and this one was the moment of pure magic.

 

Found this colorful houses on my way to Central Java.
Found this colorful houses on my way to Central Java.

 

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset
As an ancient town, Tuban is of considerable historical and cultural value. The most prominent feature is the beauty of the scenery such as beaches, caves, and forests, especially the teak forest. This is a monument on the border between East and Central Java.

 

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset
As a beach lover, I always want to come back and loving every single thing on this beach. The entire atmosphere was amazing. The beach gave me so much joy, I felt totally free, and the scenery was incredibly beautiful! The sky was the bluest blue you will ever encounter, and the temperature of the surrounding provided a warm blanket for your soul. If you were to escape from anything, and wanted time on your own without the hassle of city-life or technology, this is the place to be. (PS: this picture doesn’t do its beauty any justice).

 

Hello Semarang! It's really great idea if you plan a raod trip from East Java to Central Java. I mean, let's see this beauty! I love taking lots of pictures while traveling, and this picture is one of my favourite picture I took during the trip.
Hello, Semarang! It’s really a great idea if you wanna plan a road trip from East Java to Central Java. You’ll find so many beautiful surroundings, you’ll see a simple thing totally with a new  and different perspective (that’s the benefit of traveling). I also like taking lots of pictures while traveling, and this picture is one of the most favourite pictures I took during the trip.

 

Well, that’s all. Another tick off to my bucket list. I am so proud to say that Indonesia is heavenly beautiful. From Sabang to Merauke, this amazing country is filled with so many beautiful beaches, mountains, and another beautiful landscapes. I cannot wait to explore those exotic islands, breathtaking mountains, and all the gorgeous landscapes.

(On a side note, I have an instagram account where I usually post my holiday pictures and lately, it becomes a platform for me to write down my feelings into poetry, here’s the link if you care enough to see ’em: https://instagram.com/fefianist/, and these are some short videos I took on my way from Tuban to Central Java: here and here)
Till next journey, my friends..

 

Love,
Fefiana.

Share your thoughts here:

